NaNoWriMo: Oh, What Fun!

Hey Y’all,

It’s official! NaNoWriMo is over! It has been a crazy journey, but a fantastic adventure through and through. I’m still  happy with my progress, even though I didn’t meet the 50,000 word count goal to achieve an official NaNoWriMo badge.

I made it through many of my speedbumps, aka Modern Family, and made some new friends along the way, through the NaNoWriMo forums. Many people thought I was crazy for taking on this challenge—a 50,000 word novel in thirty days—but everyone still encouraged me to push forward. In the end, I was my own worst enemy. Old, bad habits sprouted up again, and it seemed like I always found something better to do. Believe it or not, I actually hunkered down over the Thanksgiving holiday. I completed a bulk of my novel with the football games as background noise. I didn’t do much Black Friday shopping, so that freed up some time to write as well. I met some personal goals through this process. I organized the plot, developed the main and supporting characters, and (pretty much) adhered to my schedule. I feel great! I’ve never participated in a challenge like this before, and I have to admit, it’s a nice feeling.

If I could do it all over again, I would…on one condition: I participate with a friend. I’m a social butterfly, and truly enjoy people’s company. In college, I was like a fly to the yellow light with study groups. I tend to perform better on team sports than individual. Basically, I like being around people. If I had a friend participating in NaNoWriMo as well, I’d have someone to commiserate and laugh with…sometimes at the same time. The NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program has a fun widget to challenge your friends; perhaps I’ll use this next year.

One final link for all you aspiring authors—Writer’s Relief is an author submission service that debates the good, bad, and ugly of all that is NaNoWriMo. As a former teacher and a Pisces, I want to encourage and nurture the free-spirited nature associated with writing. While NaNoWriMo presents a difficult challenge, it also presents a bigger purpose: promote creativity. Even if, like me, you didn’t reach 50,000 words, you’ve got a jumping off point. You’ve got a start, and that’s the toughest part. I will come back to my story about Teagan. I don’t know when I’ll return to writing it, but I have a clearer idea of what will develop, and now all I need is some more downtime.

Until next year! It’s been real y’all!

Word Count: 39,008!

6 Responses to NaNoWriMo: Oh, What Fun!

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Lessons Learned | riotthill.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo, Not | riotthill.com

  3. Dottie says:

    Hey Samantha!

    Next year, look at your facebook buddies to see who’s competing in NaNo, and add them to your writing buddies. You may not know all of them personally, but it’s the kinship of writing and creativity that can motivate you. Find your region, attend some write ins. Pretty soon, you’ll be commiserating with others just like you, trying to accomplish an almost impossible goal, 50k in 30 days. Check to see if Dorchester has an author forum, and buddy those authors. There are all kinds of way to make friends on NaNoWriMo, it’s fun, it’s like nothing I’ve experienced before.

    Dottie 🙂

    • Samantha Hazell, The Art of Production says:

      Hi Dottie!

      Facebook is such a great idea! I didn’t even think of that! I wish I would’ve attended more of the NaNo events like the write ins, because I think that would’ve given me an extra push. Thanks for the tips and advice! I’m looking forward to next year!

  4. LINDA B says:

    OH MY SUCH WONDERFUL BOOKS!! HEY, I NEVER SAW THE WINNERS OF THE BLOG CONTEST

    • Samantha Hazell, The Art of Production says:

      Hi Linda B!

      Thanks so much for being a voice on the blog! We love hearing from our readers and our community! We have many contests running, so I’m not sure which blog contest you participated in. Which contest are you inquiring about, and I can find out if a winner was chosen.

Leave a Reply

