NaNoWriMo: Tips to Cross the Finish Line!

Happy belated Thanksgiving, y’all!

The infamous Turducken!

Perhaps you’re reading this while waiting on line at your favorite retailer for their Black Friday deals. Maybe, like me, you’re reading this while lying on the couch, half asleep in a turkey coma—still trying to recuperate from indulging in too much fried turkey or Turducken, cranberry sauce, and pumpkin pie—or for all you vegetarians out there, too much Tofurky®. Well, fellow NaNos, you and I have got to snap out of it! We’ve got writing to do! There are only five days left until our deadline! Let’s do it to it!

I’ve cracked the whip and buckled down. My last update expressed my concerns with finishing the NaNoWriMo challenge. With the help and support of my friends, family, colleagues, and NaNoWriMo community, I’ve gone into a writing frenzy. I’ve put off some of my favorite shows…only the ones that show reruns online :). But, I’m happy to report that I’m getting closer to beating the clock! Plus, I’m not just tossing words on the page (well, computer screen). I’m actually developing the characters and plot. Now, my only problem is…how do I end this? I want the ending to be memorable and unique. Maybe my problem is that I don’t know what is going to happen yet. Wasn’t it J.K. Rowling who said she knew exactly how the Harry Potter series was going to end? Apparently, I’ve made a rookie NaNoWriMo mistake. I’m toying with the idea of stretching my novel into a series; but, it took me nearly 25 days to simply get going on this novel. I can only imagine if I attempted a series! It would then be called NaNoWriYr! Any and all suggestions from the NaNo community are greatly appreciated!

How cute are these Bugle® cornucopias!

During this entire process, I’ve been wishing there was more time. “There aren’t enough hours in the day,” I’d complain. So, for my final piece of motivation I turn back the clock. As Winston Churchill said, “Those that fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it.” In the Churchill spirit, I’ve found thirty NaNoWriMo tips from last year. I wish I knew about #14 and #20 before I started all these shenanigans! Maybe I’ll have to start catching up on #25, ha! Anywho, I thought these thirty tips were helpful, encouraging, and funny. What do y’all think? Do you have any other pieces of advice for our last stint in NaNoWriMo?

This is our last leg, our final hurrah! So, let’s put on our thinking caps and bust out the quill pens! Homestretch, here we come!

Word Count: 31,717 and counting!

5 Responses to NaNoWriMo: Tips to Cross the Finish Line!

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: Day 24 | My Writer's Cramp

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo – Winners Badge – But what next? « Dave Farmer

  3. Pingback: NaNoWriMo – Day 25 « alchemyofscrawl

  4. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: Day 26 | My Writer's Cramp

  5. Pingback: My Writers Cramp | My Writer's Cramp

Leave a Reply

