Insurrectionizing the insuperable writer in you + prize package!

(Rest assured, I’m only using a title of that caliber to celebrate NaNoWriMo.)

Let’s write! Crack those knuckles and consider the following, oh lascivious lovers of the written word. As I know I’m among good company here on the Dorchester Community Blog, I can readily confess that my research into the world of providing prompts has thoroughly inspired me to share in this treasure trove. There were two Web-sites in particular that yielded exceedingly helpful results! One-word prompts are a fun and easy way to generate tantalizing possibilities quickly and, perhaps most importantly, efficiently.

Word Dynamo is a program that challenges the breadth of your vocabulary and, in the process of taking the test, broadens your knowledge! Take, for instance, the word typy. I merely concluded the impossible definitions, thus narrowing the field to two possibilities. Really, it was a lucky guess! Did you know it means “(of a domestic animal) embodying the ideal characteristics of its variety or breed?” I certainly didn’t.

For more specific prompts, try the Random Word Generator! I can’t tell you how fast my commute went simply by browsing endless combinations of obscure transitive verbs (my personal favorite). As the title of this post may suggest, my foray into the English language yielded insurrectionizing, which means “to rouse (a person, group, or people) to insurgent action.” Who knew? Perhaps you did—thus, I bow to your far superior level of expertise.

How did you measure up against the forces of the dictionary dynamo? Do word prompts help or hinder your writing? Reply in the comments for your chance to win a prize package worth over $30!
Signing off (to generate more random word combinations, most likely)—

Jillian, The Zombie Intern

10 Responses to Insurrectionizing the insuperable writer in you + prize package!

  1. highlandlove says:

    LOL this is fun. Thanks!!! A new addiction, like I needed another one. But I can see playing with this for days on end.

    hugs,
    WendyK @NClover

  2. thepaisleycat says:

    Hinder!!!!! I am already over-wordy, lengthy, and non productive!!!!

    Looks way cool!

    Ruth

  3. Debbie says:

    Its fun to put it on obscure and try to see if I know what the words mean!!!! LOL
    Ok….I’m easily amused!!!!!

    Hugs

    Debbie!!!!

  4. Rebekah E. says:

    That was alot of fun. I found out on the ones I did get wrong that I should always go with my gut.

  5. Virginia C says:

    At last! I have found a wonderful way to weave words, pontificate phrases, negotiate nouns, vernaculise verbs, and etc. What great fun! A few years ago, I trained someone at work as my back-up–someone to fill in for me on my vacation days or help with the work overflow. She was half my age, and she told me that I used “old words”. Of course I do : )

    • The Intern Experience says:

      I’m so glad you found the website useful, Virginia! I, for one, think your “old words” are magnificent and impressive. “Pontificate” in particular—a favorite of mine, I confess!

      Your comment really brightened my day. :)

      —Jillian, The Zombie Intern

  6. Dottie says:

    I’m NaNo-ing and I’ve only avoided the MS for a single day so far… due to a brain fraggle or two. I loved playing with Word Dynamo, it was tantalizing (one of the words, lol). Next brain fraggle I have, Word Dynamo will be the way to go! Thanks!

    • Allison Carroll, Editorial and Web Coordinator says:

      Hi Dottie,
      Well, I’m excited and embarrassed all at the same time. I’m excited to announce that you’re the winner of the $30 prize package! I’m embarassed because picking a winner for this giveaway slipped through the cracks for a month. Yikes! We’re usually much more prompt than this. Holiday craziness is to blame, no doubt.

      To claim your prize, please email your shipping address to contests@dorchesterpub.com and I’ll get your prize in the mail!

      Happy Reading,
      Allison Carroll
      Dorchester Publishing

  7. JT says:

    I’m enjoying being a magneto but wonder what I have to do to reach dynamo status? Maybe work words like erudite into my everyday vernacular?

  8. JOYE says:

    Enjoyed reading the comments. When I was in high school and knew I was going to college, I asked my lit teacher to give me a list of books I should read. One of them was the dictionary. So I would read a page a day and tried to remember what the words meant. Awesome task.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers