NaNoWriMo!

Hey All,

November is National Novel Writing Month and the buzz in the writing community is all about NaNoWriMo and their 30-day challenge! According to its website, NaNoWriMo’s 30-day challenge is described as:

What: Writing one 50,000-word novel from scratch in a month’s time.

Who: You! We can’t do this unless we have some other people trying it as well. Let’s write laughably awful yet lengthy prose together.

Why: The reasons are endless! To actively participate in one of our era’s most enchanting art forms! To give yourself permission to write without obsessing over quality. To be able to make obscure references to passages from our novels at parties. To stop being one of those people who say, “I’ve always wanted to write a novel,” and become one of those people who can say, “Oh, a novel? It’s such a funny story–I’ve written three.”

When: You can sign up anytime to add your name to the roster and browse the forums. Writing begins 12:00:01 November 1. To be added to the official list of winners, you must reach the 50,000-word mark by November 30 at 11:59:59. Once your novel has been verified by our web-based team of robotic word counters, the partying begins.

I’m taking the challenge head on—I’m going to write a novel in a month! I might be slightly crazy, but it’ll be fun. So, why don’t you join me? In preparation for this month, I’ve been racking the brains of my family, friends, and co-workers trying to think of an idea, theme, and title (I’m still working on the title). Luckily I’ve already found tips on the Dorchester Community Blog via an interview with horror author, Sarah Pinborough. Later this week, we will feature more writing tips and tricks for authors. For some more motivation, check out The Office of Letters and Light’s (the masterminds behind NaNoWriMo) recent blog post about the struggles of great authors like William Faulkner, Virginia Woolf, and Margaret Mitchell.

According to my calculations, I have to average about 1,670 words a day in order to meet the 50,000 word count. It’ll be difficult to type 1,670 words every day, but, since I have a two hour commute on the subway, I’ll probably jot down ideas and plot lines, then type them during the weekend. Maybe I’ll even bedazzle my notebook. Let the chaos begin! Wish me luck, and don’t forget to look for my posted updates on the blog every Friday! Not including this sentence, I’ve already got 400 words this month!

One Response to NaNoWriMo!

  1. Raye says:

    we’re going strong in Hawaii… 😀

Leave a Reply

