Dreaming Away the Subway Slump!

After my first three weeks interning at Dorchester Publishing I have meandered through shelf upon shelf of scintillating titles, as well as hair-raising horrors, some of which I don’t even dare to open.  I’m a newcomer to genre fiction, and I think it’s pretty safe to say I am being pulled in fast.  For an English graduate who spent her college years inundated with the proverbial literary anthologies and dry criticism, there can be nothing more exhilarating than the glisten of a three-part fold out foil cover and an in-depth description of a ripped bodice.

My particular fancy…Historical Romance!  And before you ask, no, I do not have a thing for Henry VIII.  Although I have to admit, sometimes it’s hard to get away from Literature with a capital “L,” especially in school.  Unlike Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, or a hefty Jane Austin novel, historical romance novels hit the perfect balance between fact and fiction.  Just as the social criticism mounts, a sultry scene breaks the tedium of yesteryear.  Reading historical romance is the most efficient form of escapism I have yet to encounter.  What could be more distracting in a line at the grocery store or on a stalled subway train than a literary romp in a Duke’s bedchamber?

After burning my way through Jennifer Ashley’s The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie, I cannot wait to get my hands on A Lily Among Thorns by Rose Lerner, or should I say, for it to get its hands on me! ——- The History Buff

Giveaway: What was the first genre book that pulled you in?  Did you ever leave home without it?  Let us know how you became a fan to win an awe-inspiring prize.

3 Responses to Dreaming Away the Subway Slump!

  1. Estella says:

    I don’t remember the name of the book. It was many years ago and it was by Barara Cartland.

    • Allison Carroll, Editorial and Web Coordinator says:

      Congrats Estella! You’ve been selected as the winner of the prize. Email contests@dorchesterpub.com with your shipping address and we’ll get your prize in the mail. Thanks for being a voice on the blog!
      Happy Reading,
      Allison Carroll
      Dorchester Publishing

  2. Debbie says:

    Don’t remember. I know Georgette Heyer was an early favorite. But I have always loved to read – mysteries, westerns, romance, science fiction/ fantasy, and even some horror, although horror is my least favorite genre.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

