Interning is no horror!

Well. Unless you enjoy that sort of thing.

As it happens, I’m allegedly one of the few “office lurkers” (I’ve taken to calling my fellow interns that—shhh don’t tell!) who thoroughly enjoys the horror genre. As such, I’ve turned my nose up at more than one romance novel in my lifetime, and thus, was completely unprepared for that to change. Following my first week interning at Dorchester I was beset by the dawning realization I, the self-proclaimed horror enthusiast with a proclivity for all things heinous and hideous, could be swept off my feet (quite literally) by a PNR (paranormal romance —see? I’m even speaking the language!).

The Knights Who 'Til Recently Said Ni

This was not an easy transition. I felt particularly akin to King Arthur meeting the Knights Who Say Ni, baffled by the seemingly improbable task set before me. They asked that I read a romance novel? “It can’t be done!” Yet my own shrubbery was not quite so difficult to find, nor to obtain, and it arrived in the form of L. J. McDonald’s The Battle Sylph. To say that I required another quest to read the second installment, The Shattered Sylph, would be a complete falsehood. By the close of Labor Day weekend, I was licking the wounds of my former nay-saying vocation and taking up the banner of the bodice ripper!

All in all, I must say that after just two weeks of interning at Dorchester, these spirited yet saucy people have managed to convince me: judging a book by its cover, while amusing at times, usually results in missing out on a world of possibilities.

Rest assured, o ye weary internet travelers! This confession hardly means that I will take a fight lying down. As soon as I’m finished sating my ravenous appetite for sylphs, I will be sure to buckle down and report on matters of the heart. Or, well, perhaps the decaying heart.

Giveaway: What genre is your least favorite and why? Try picking it up anyway! I dare you. 🙂 Leave your answer in the comment thread and be entered to win a free book (in the genre of your choice).

Jillian—The Zombie Intern

8 Responses to Interning is no horror!

  1. Craig Clarke says:

    My least favorite is definitely the romance genre, though I have read one or two and found them to be well written. (I already knew the authors’ other work, however, so it was hardly a gamble.)

    I actually enjoy following a developing love story as part of a larger tale. (A little sweetness is a nice break during the dark genres I prefer to read.) But when the burgeoning romance is the primary storyline, I usually pass.

  2. Estella says:

    My least favorite genre is horror. I read to be entertained, not scared to death.

  3. I’ve been a horror fan since grade school. (Thank you, Stephen King, for all the goosebumps while reading late at night under the covers with a flashlight!) Romance novels would be a pretty big stretch for me, but I’m warming to the idea of them more due to the popularity of paranormal romance over the last few years. The hot covers make them a little more tempting too…

    • Allison Carroll, Editorial and Web Coordinator says:

      Congrats Michelle! You’ve been selected as the winner of the giveaway. Email me at contests@dorchesterpub.com with your shipping address and genre you’d prefer to read (horror, romance, Western, thriller). If you’re ready to try a paranormal, I’ve got just the one for you!
      Happy Reading,
      Allison Carroll
      Dorchester Publishing

  4. Yvonne B. says:

    It’s actually a bit of a stretch to find a least favorite genre as I tend to read in phases (read, different genres depending on the mood) and my keeper shelves reflect that.

    Push comes to shove, least favorite(s) is/are erotica and BDSM – have read samples in both, and there is one or two erotica authors I do like, but overall, don’t really care for them.

  5. Jen (former intern) says:

    My least favorite is definitely horror. Although, I must say that I would probably prefer horror novels to horror films, and here’s why: in horror films, the /director/ decides how much gore and stuff you see (which may very well be a lot!). However, when you read a novel, YOU get to decide how much you actually see in your head. (Does that make any sense?)

    P.S. – Love the reference to the “Knights Who Say ‘Ni.'” =)

Leave a Reply

