E-Reader Blog Series: Barnes & Noble Nook + GIVEAWAY

Tricky Nicki, the intern

Here we go again – round two. After venturing (rather timidly, I must admit) into the overwhelming pool of e-readers and technology last week with the Sony PRS-505, I’m ready to give it another go. This time Dorchester loaned me the Barnes & Noble Nook, which I was actually pretty darn excited about. After working at Borders for four years, I was eager to test out their competitor’s product and see if it really is as good as everyone says it is. Four whole years of being trained to shun Barnes & Noble, all going down the drain for this experiment. But I’m more than ready to take on the project.

This time around I’m reading another paranormal romance (what can I say, I love them), this time by a new author (for me). Elisabeth Naughton’s Marked took center stage this week. Taking on a new e-reader and a new author? Who knew I had it in me…

Model: Barnes & Noble Nook
Price: starts at $149 (from the Barnes & Noble website)
Weight: 12.1 ounces
Storage Capability: holds up to 1,500 books, magazines, and newspapers
Battery Life: lasts up to 10 days
Bonus: free Wi-Fi, LendMe™ technology (allows you to share books with friends for up to two weeks), available games
*My model is the Nook 3G+Wi-Fi, which means that it can connect to the Internet anywhere. The less-expensive model (Nook Wi-Fi) is able to connect to the Internet for free at all B&N stores and AT&T hotspots.

My Take: Just like the Sony PRS-505, the Nook was extremely (here it is again) convenient. It’s easy to carry around, although it is a bit heavier than the Sony. Plus, this model came in a really cool-looking case, which can’t hurt the visual appeal.

The Nook has so many features that make it fun to use and also keeps its contents organized: the screen itself is like the Sony, with e-ink technology (no sun glare!), but the bottom portion is a touch-screen. I’m not usually a big fan of touch-screens, but this is actually pretty fantastic. I found the small one at the bottom to actually be much handier than buttons, especially since it only takes up about 1/5 of the space. There are different sections for anything you would ever want or need from your Nook: The Daily (“What’s New”), My Library, Shop (so easy to use!), Reading Now which saves the page of whatever you’re reading–if you don’t want that, you can use more traditional bookmarks (traditional being a relative term here), Games, Wi-Fi, Audio, Web, and Settings. Also, if you press the power button once, it puts your Nook to sleep—a feature I came to love, since the one downside of this device is that it takes pretty long to start up.

Basically, I have only good things to say about this e-reader. I am definitely impressed. The Nook is currently occupying the number one spot on my e-reader list. The rest of you e-readers—show me what you’ve got.

The Verdict: Here’s the breakdown:

Ease of Use: 4
Battery Life: 4.5 (took about half the battery to read one book and get to know all the features)
Visual Appeal: 5
Durability:  5 (no problems all week)
Reading: 5

So, out of a possible 25 points, I’d give the Barnes & Noble Nook a…23.5! I absolutely love the Nook and didn’t have any real complaints about it (which is saying a lot since technology and I usually don’t get along so well).

Stop by on Friday to find out about the Borders Kobo!

GIVEAWAY: Do you believe that having all of your technology (books, Internet, documents, etc.) in one device is convenient or too risky? Share your opinion and be entered to win a FREE ebook download or print copy of Marked. A winner will be chosen at the end of the week.

Signed one of those interns,
Nicole Banholzer

10 Responses to E-Reader Blog Series: Barnes & Noble Nook + GIVEAWAY

  1. Kristy says:

    Nicki,

    This is fantastic. I’ve heard such great things about the nook…doesn’t it have a digital bookshelf too that backs up the information on it? While I’m still partial to paper, I would definitely consider the nook. I think convenience of having everything on one device is perfect…especially when it can be digitally backed up.

  2. connie says:

    I have as yet not choosen an e-reader. I really want one as I have over 1,000 books in my home. And these are just my favorite Authors! I am now physicaly challegened, and have a hard time holding my paper back books. I have heard that the color nook is the way to go. Being able to read your revews helps a lot. Thank you.

    • The Intern Experience says:

      Hi Connie,

      I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying my reviews! It was a great experience being able to test out a few of the e-readers out there and share them with readers like yourself.

      I’ve heard good things about the Nook color as well: I think that if you’re a fan of touchscreens and you are looking to read more than just books on it, it’s probably the way to go. I imagine looking through a magazine on a color-screen like the Nook color’s would be pretty nice 🙂

  3. Marcelle Cole says:

    I have the PC applications for NOOK, KOBO & Kindle. I have purchased an Aluretek and hope to upgrade to a color model of one of the previous. I love having the flexibility of these E-readers. There are so many sites that offer free reads, plus the 100 books mine came with. I can put my romance books & also add things for my 10 tear old son to make waiting more pleasant for me. Also the MP-3 function on mine let’s me listen to my favorite music while I am enjoying a favorite read.

    • Allison Carroll, Editorial and Web Coordinator says:

      Congrats Marcelle Cole! You’ve been randomly selected as the winner of the Marked e-book giveaway! Please email contests@dorchesterpub.com with the email address you would like your prize to be sent to.
      Cheers,
      Allison Carroll
      Editorial and Web Coordinator

  4. Larena Wirum says:

    I actually have both the print and ebook version of this book so don’t enter me in this contest but I would have to agree about the Nook. I absolutely love it. I have the 3g version so that I can get book downloads in a lot more places than just the wi-fi would allow. The small touch screen is very easy to use and makes things easy to find and access. I have my Nook with me pretty much everywhere I go. 🙂

  5. Joan OToole says:

    I have an Aluretek which I have used for a while and also have the PC apps. The Aluretek was on sale when I bought it and has been a great learning tool. I have discovered how convenient it is to always have a book to read wherever I am. I have to confess that I am not ready to completely switch from regular paper books to an ereader. I use and enjoy both. I will in the future be purchasing a color ereader with a larger screen and wi-fi connection. I appreciate reading other people’s analysis and reviews of the available ereaders on the market.

  6. dawn says:

    i have sony e reader and would like to know if nook can be read in sunlight or if problems. As summer is coming and would like to be able to read in sunlight without covering page or in the shade.

  7. Allison Carroll, Editorial and Web Coordinator says:

    I’m here to announce the winner of the Marked e-book giveaway. Congrats to Marcelle Cole! You’ve been randomly selected to receive a free Adobe EPUB download of Marked from the Dorchester website! Please email contests@dorchesterpub.com with the email address you would like your prize to be sent to.
    Cheers,
    Allison Carroll
    Editorial and Web Coordinator

  8. Dee says:

    I personally think it’s a great idea. Of course you need to have it backed up but I’d rather carry one device around than a bunch. Thanks for the chance!

Leave a Reply

