My NaNoWriMo Adventure Continues!

Hey All,

We’re officially eleven days into NaNoWriMo! Wow, I can’t believe we’re almost to the halfway point! At first, I didn’t have a clue as to what I was going to write about. I polled friends and family, and received some crazy, and some legitimate ideas. Apparently, procrastination is my middle name, because I finally settled on a protagonist and genre the night before NaNoWriMo began. I’d call that cutting it close! But, I still made it. Now, let’s see how Teagan, a high school freshman caught up in her bestie’s lies, deceit, and eventually murder, will fare in my novel.

While I love writing my novel, it’s been difficult to balance work and writing. It doesn’t help that I have to write during the best month of football (Go Giants!), and when all of my favorite sitcoms are on (Glee and Modern Family). I’ve really had to hunker down, but I’m proud to report that I have 9,028 words written! Luckily, I have a long commute to and from work, so I jot down ideas, important plot points, and sometimes paragraphs in my notebook. Yes, I’ve gotten quite a few glances and stares as I scribble furiously on the subway. Something tells me these NYC commuters have seen weirder, though.

I haven’t averaged the 1,670 words a day, like I wanted. Luckily the NaNoWriMo community offers many different ways to motivate its participants. Check out NaNoWriMo’s Pep Talks for encouragement from authors. These talks really helped push me. Also, there are events all over the country for participants to attend. There’s nothing like a face-to-face writing session to keep the creativity flowing. For those of you who can’t get to a NaNoWriMo session, check out some of Nathan Branford’s motivational tips—he’s an agent and author based out of San Francisco.

I’m determined to meet the goal of 50,000 words in thirty days. I’ve got a game plan set. I foresee some issues arising once it gets closer to Thanksgiving. Between fried turkey and Turkey Bowl football, I probably won’t be doing too much writing. So, I’m hoping for a couple of rainy weekends because it gives me an excuse to stay inside and write! I’ve stumbled across a few roadblocks, but luckily the NaNoWriMo community is tight-knit and rallies behind one another. How do y’all remain motivated during NaNoWriMo? Leave some comments here to share with the Dorchester Community. Until next time, NaNos…keep writing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

